CHRISTIAN COMIC ARTS SOCIETY :: A NETWORK OF CHRISTIAN FELLOWSHIP FOR COMICS FANS, PROS, AND AMATEURS

Painter books and tutorials

Hey everyone. I have been using photoshop for about 12 years now and while I love the program I am also wanting to learn Painter.I have the program and am looking for some good books or tutorials online so I can see how to use it. I have version 8 by the way. I have a trial version of Painter X but that will expire soon.So if any of you guys and gals can point me in the right direction I would appreciate it. thanks, Lance

You need to be a member of CCAS - Christian Comic Arts Society to add comments!

Join CCAS - Christian Comic Arts Society

Email me when people reply –

Replies

• Hey Strad,

Yeah, I have been a fan of ImagineFX since the premier issue, lots of good stuff there. I will check out the online mag. You know whats funny to me, I am hearing a lot of people talk about using tablets on some of the comic web sites, its funny to me because they have been around so long, I figured anyone doing graphics work in PShop was using one. Guess not, I have had one for over 10 years and I couldnt live without it for some work. I still have a mouse to and bounce back and forth. I actually have a new mouse, an Ergo Mouse, its sits upright and you hold it like a gun, it take a lot of the stress off your arms for those of us who have repetitive stress disorder, its been a huge blessing. Thanks for the links.
    • You should look for Don Seegmiller "Digital character design and painting" the painter edition. it cost bout $50 nifties..but its worth more than it cost...you can probably find it cheaper on amazon.
  • http://www.imaginefx.com/ (they have a magazine that's about 15 bucks to import from the British Empire). This also includes a nice disk with tutorials and the like, though pertains to various programs. I have seen quite a lot of Painter in it though.

Check out 2Dart as well http://www.2dartistmag.com/