CHRISTIAN COMIC ARTS SOCIETY :: A NETWORK OF CHRISTIAN FELLOWSHIP FOR COMICS FANS, PROS, AND AMATEURS

What Comic Script Format Do you Use?

Hi all,I'm a newbie to this group but I'm not new to creating stories or writing. Even though I just published my own comic, I know that one day I may have to have an artist help me out, so I want to continue to learn what I can about comic writing. I read the book DC's Guide To Writing a Comic and noticed that there were several different ways to write a script, so I was wondering what style that most of you prefer, especially those of you who have written comics professionally. What basics should every script have?Beloved in Grace,Souba

You need to be a member of CCAS - Christian Comic Arts Society to add comments!

Join CCAS - Christian Comic Arts Society

Email me when people reply –

Replies

• I'D SAY, EVEN IF YOU ARE THE AUTHOR, A FULL SCRIPT WILL HELP. IN FACT, I'D DO IT IN THREE PARTS : OUTLINE, FULL STORY AND "SCRENEPALY " - THE LAST BEING WHAT YOU ARE LIKELY TO ACTUALLY PUBLISH. BTW, READ ADDAPTIONS OF SCRENE PLAYS/MOVIES AS WELL AS BOOKS UPON WHICH MOVIES WERE BASED; AND IF YOU CAN FIND THEM "THE MAKING OF " SUCH AS DAVID GERRALD'S "TROUBLE WITH TRIBBLES ".
    YOU MIGHT ALSO CHECK ADDAPTIONS OF CLASSICS INTO GRAPHIC NOVELS - SOME OF WHICH CONVEY THE MESSAGE, BUT MISS THE STORY.
  • Unless you have a solid relationship with your artist and know you can trust his judgment, use full script.

I have a copy of Dennis O'Neal's "The DC Comics Guide To Writing Comics". His formatting suggestions will give you a good starting point. The truth is, there are as many variations on full script format as their are writers who use it.
  • That was actually very good advice, Kathleen! I was just asking for script samples, but this is actually a lot better! Well looking at my story now, I'm happy to say that I do have the ending done in mind, everything else I'm just letting develop naturally in between. :-D