CHRISTIAN COMIC ARTS SOCIETY :: A NETWORK OF CHRISTIAN FELLOWSHIP FOR COMICS FANS, PROS, AND AMATEURS

I'm new at comics

I would like to ask for a little advice. I'm new and I would like to know the steps to creating a comic or graphic novel. I know it starts with the writer, then moves on to the penciler, then on to the inker, then comes the color and letters. I know it sounds like I know what i'm talking about, but I don't. Could someone explain each step in detail? OK, maybe it's not a little advice. It's more like a lot of instructions. Thanks and God bless.

You need to be a member of CCAS - Christian Comic Arts Society to add comments!

Join CCAS - Christian Comic Arts Society

Email me when people reply –

Replies

• Truly a broad-based question!!
    The main thing that I believe you need to remember is that a comic or novel is a story, hopefully with a point of view. Each part has its own disciplines and its own areas of knowledge that helps to convey that story. Anything that distracts or takes from that storytelling is counter-productive to you. A great story can be short, and a long story can be rambling and meaningless. So first and foremost, have a story to tell that's worthy of the time and effort that will go into it.
    Just as a book is divided into chapters, or a movie is divided into scenes, so too are comic stories. In order to effectively tell a comic story you need to separate it into those story chapters or breaks and decide how many pages each section will need to convey the scene.
    If you write your dialogue first into your story then you have to take into account the space used in writing those words as your break the sections into panels.